M Leuven’s roots lie in an 18th-century cabinet of curiosities in Leuven’s town hall. From 1823, the collection was known as the Museum of Paintings, but it became a fully-fledged historical museum only under city archivist Edward van Even (1821–1905).
As of July 3, Willy started broadcasting from the iconic museum site. The station will air live from the museum’s Summer Bar on weekdays in July (3–21) and August (7–25) between 11 a.m. and 6 p.m.
Weekdays start with Willy DJ Elien D’hooge opening up with a summer rock playlist; various Willy presenters take the helm in the afternoons. On Thursdays, Willy hosts an after-work party until 10 p.m., with DJ sets, celebrities hosting a two-hour radio show, new talent concerts and backstage trivia presented by radio veteran Luc Janssen.
The live broadcasts make part of the museum’s “Summer of M” agenda, with a summer bar and garden.